Effective January 1, 2010, the City of Wilmington’s law banning the use of hand-held cell phone takes effect. Legislation passed by City Council on August 20, 2009 establishes a $50.00 penalty for a violation of the ban. A violation shall constitute a civil penalty. Mobile telephone use while operating a moving motor vehicle or riding a bicycle will only be allowed when equipped with built-in speakers or a hands-free accessory. The ban also prohibits placing or receiving text messages, sending or receiving emails on mobile telephones or other electronic devices. It establishes a penalty for this civil violation with a $50.00 assessment. See the legislation in writing HERE (pdf).
Talking on a cell phone while driving is the equivalent of driving drunk. Texting while driving is at least twice as dangerous. Source: New York Times. As of today, Delaware’s best hope (statewide) is HB-40, a toothless bill aimed at texting as a non-primary offense. Contact the sponsoring legislators and let them know your feelings on this subject.