• Record $20.7 million for cycling and walking approved by Delaware General Assembly in early morning vote

    by  • July 1, 2016 • Legislation and Policy, Transportation Trails, Walkable Bikeable Delaware • 75 Comments

    Funding for construction of the final phase of the Wilmington-New Castle Greenway was included in the state budget passed Friday morning.

    Funding for construction of the final phase of the Wilmington-New Castle Greenway was included in the state budget passed Friday morning.

    The Delaware General Assembly voted early Friday morning to approve a capital budget for the state of Delaware that includes a record $20.7 million for cycling and walking improvements.

    In each year since the passage of Walkable Bikeable Delaware in 2011 the state of Delaware has made substantial financial commitments to improving cycling and walking infrastructure in the state. The previous record was set in 2012 when the Delaware General Assembly approved an unprecedented investment authorization of $13 million. This morning’s vote, however, blows past that previous record.

    The increased support for cycling and walking in the final budget passed this morning is all the more remarkable in that the legislature’s budget writers had less revenue to work with than they thought they would when Governor Markell made his initial budget proposal back in January and they reduced a number of budget lines in the capital budget as a result. But whereas Governor Markell’s initial budget proposed spending $19 million on cycling and waking, the final budget passed this morning actually increased that number by another million dollars.

    One of the most ambitious projects that will now be completed with this authorized funding is the Wilmington-New Castle Greenway, a safe, direct, paved, flat and nearly uninterrupted non-motorized six-mile travel route between the Wilmington Riverfront and downtown New Castle. Another project that will gain additional momentum is the Lewes-Georgetown Trail, a 10 foot wide paved trail that will extend a total of 17 miles all the way from Lewes to Georgetown, creating the longest trail in Delaware.

    We are especially grateful for the leadership of State Senator Dave Sokola, the co-chair of the committee that wrote the capital budget, and Governor Jack Markell. It’s not a coincidence that Senator Sokola biked to work yesterday (about 60 miles) and Governor Markell biked to work today (also about 60 miles).


    Walkable Bikeable Delaware (Strategic investment in cycling and walking)

    • News Journal: “State agencies draw up a dream trail for cyclists”

    • Lewes-Georgetown Trail Launches!

    Lillian Nichols, Nat Measley, Joseph Lafferty, Melissa Toomey, Marty Lessner, Carla Anthony Anderson, Mark Peirce, Dolores Keller, Brad Gunther, Philip Marvil, Donna Teleis, Liz Houghton, James English, Faye Dube, Debbi Zarek, Lochlann Kehoe, Eileen Angerman Kehoe, Jonathan Russ, Om Ongtawco, Dan Moran, Kathleen Murphy Case, Michele Hensley Logsdon, Kelly Jack, Geoff Trotman, Ann-Thomas Moffett, P. Jane Walmsley, Bill Stewart, Kathleen Covelli, Sarah Ridgway Willoughby, Benny Panella, Irene Maria Butcher-Hairston, Mike Forester, Steve Wannberg, John David-Delaware Baker, Stephen Horgan, Nancy Getchell, Julie Biter Monaghan, Jeanne Thomas, Stanley Sharp, Paul Wishengrad, Lauren Donnelly Mcmahon, Ducki Alex, Laurie Napolin, David Anshen, Sean Rizzi, Susan Vaglia, Jack Long Sr., Kent Riegel, Betsy Price, Aimee Moulder, Mark Billips, Laura Bolen, Tom Olson, Sheryl Balthaser Campbell, Patty Levitsky, Emily Williams, Lee Seymour, Thomas Egee, Kathy Buonocore, Judy Benedict Pantalino, Buck Simpers, Lori Culnane, Beth Kramer, MK Boyce, James E Coffield Jr, Angi Knoll, David John, Thomas Blades, Robert L. Sassa Sr., Linda Roland, Ciara Kehoe, Andrew Rogan, Robert Biddle, Alfonso Castillo, Brendon Teles, Kenneth C. Sturgis, Billie Scott, Jeff Kase, Howard L Keener Jr., Marilyn Kane, Wanda Gray, Ron Faskowicz, Tanya MikkiImages Bayard, Tim Gibbs, Monica Ann, Jason Hortiz, Jerome Grochocki, Elizabeth Lockman, John Eckenrode, Dana Dane, Eric Mease, Jen Johnson, Mike Johnson, Jon Larson, Mia Antonia Papas, John Haug, Sheila Hershey, Jim Hutchison, Kathy Potts, Rosemary Delario Castiglioni, Peter Campbell, Kevin Bohrer, Keith Betts, Mark Deshon, Jonathan Tate, Pamela Jean Eckenrode, Kevin Wells, Patrick Dawson, Laurie O'Connell, Marcella Anglisano, Alan Hecht, Becky Winant, Robert John Setting, E. Lawrence Benson, Bob Werner, Kathy Sperl-Bell, Chuck Davidson, Karen Bennett Dougherty, Mike Furnari, Todd Brewer, Dennis Patrick, Sharon DeFranco, Dayra Diamond, Nancy Henry, Bobbie Jefferson, Keith Krug, Jennifer Blackwell, Diane Bart, Paula Roddy, Randy Reed, Ed Hunt, Gina Fleming Wessells, Kent Gaffey, Joe Kerr, Diane S. Dunfee Bell, John Thornes, Nancy Smith, Catherine Chen Hester, Moira Walker, Barry A. Criscuolo, Thomas George Hughes, Ann Swankoski Williams, Wan Fisher, Ron Cohen, Linda Salvatore Berl, Randy McCane, Carmela Simons, Sophia Kootwijk, Joshua DuPont, Polly Jansen, Karen Guise, Carol-Anne Ritter, Gail Tannenbaum, Linda Hairsine Russell, Andrew Walpole, Morgan Urello, Kathleen McGrath, Susan Cusick Guariano, Chris Moran, Will Weldon, Molly Wessel, Debbie Kovac, Linda Norton Shanley, Daniel Trivin, Walt Borders, Barbara Sheppard, Sean Barkovic, Linda Arnold Brokaw, Fighting Traffic, Ann Balogh, Jeff Herbert, Fate Heise, Lydia Davis, Pat Wulf Sabisch, Nick Valdes, Mark Rachlin, Sue Mearkle, Doris Irwin Leonardo, Purvi Hiren Desai, Eileen R Kauffman, Courtney Howland McKinley, Amy Eader, Aaron Chen, Susan Trasino, Jessica Nash Leisenring, Jim Boyd, Joe Barnes, Jennifer Barnes, Steven J Meadows, Nora Evans, Vicki Stockslager, Mary Jane Klosowski, John Anderson, Paula Gatos, Rich Braun, Kevin Adams, Vance Derrickson, Lee Zats, Kerry Larotonda, Suzanne Swift, Herb Gunther, Brenda Savage Meldrum, Colleen Aungst, Christiane Neaves, Olga Jurado, Michelle Marie, Tina Anderson, Gwen Elizabeth, Tanner Mathias, Greg Talley, Pam Kaithern, Leslie Carey, Tim Goldsborough, Andrea Warner-Hemmig, Dana Kaminski Smith, Sarah Watson, Alex Kaplan, Tricia A. Cain, Madeline Perri, Roaine Watson, Fabrice Dubecq, Dianne VanArsdalen Green, Benjamin Hannon, John Comolli, Joel Scott Schiller, Carol Carsey Logan, Kimberly Frock, Jill Herbert, Stephanie Potts, Staci Lyvers, Marihelen Barrett, Melissa Lafferty, Larry Stomberg, Brian B Nyamu, Susan Cnett, Will Neide, Ann Rucinski Westerbaan, Shaun Gundel, Denise DiGiacoma Langford, Valerie Maglio Longhurst, Christy McHugh, Betty Olmstead, Suzanne Trueblood, Donna Tuohey, Margaret Reilly, Alicia Rolls Thomas, Tom Noyes, Kim Legregni, Michael Day, Maggie Rowe liked this post

    75 Responses to Record $20.7 million for cycling and walking approved by Delaware General Assembly in early morning vote

    1. Pingback: Closing some of the gaps from the 2014 ride | Exploring the East Coast Greenway

    2. Pingback: Delaware Approves $20.7 Million So Markell & Sokola Can Have Safe Bike Rides But Ignore Special Education Funding Bill? – Exceptional Delaware

    3. Jonathan Tos
      August 27, 2016 at 5:57 pm

      This article was very similar to the one written last spring advertising funds for the last part of this trail? What happened?

      Will it actually get build THIS year? Hoping so…

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *